Dec 13, 7:30pm 30.1′ Wind chill 22.5′

Hello everyone.

   This will have to be quick, as I think I have the answers now to the photography problems plaguing this endeavor.  But I must get over to the science lab, where the Tech Wiz works his magic.

    Speaking quickly of magic, I hope you all will have a safe and Happy Friday the 13th.  It was a little cooler and slightly breezy here, but nothing bad happened.  And for a stranger in a strange land doing strange work on a strange computer operating system that’s saying a LOT!  If I were the type of person who believes in triptodeckaphobia (or however you spell fear of Fridays the thirteenth) I would not have gotten out of bed today.  In fact this was the first morning since I’ve been here that I was up, dressed and out of the room without waking my room mate.  I knew the day was off to a great start.

  We all have room mates here.  That should be no surprise since there are a lot of people in a very small space.  Though the facility is designed for up to 1000, there are currently 539 men and 206 women working at the base.  My room mate John is working on the water purification system, and has swing shift hours; basically noon to 10:pm.  We see very little of each other, but so far we get along very well.  It is a blessing in itself that there are only two in the room designed to hold 4.  As the full compliment of personnel is less than 3/4 of maximum, there is considerably more room to move about, and smaller lines for meals and everything else.  It is very much like a small college atmosphere.  And it is a change I am enjoying for right now.  I promise to write more about the camaraderie here as time goes by.  The job is getting easier by the day and I am feeling more and more relaxed with the free time I have.  I look forward to sharing with you the outdoor activities that are available here.  Heck, I can’t wait to start on some of these things myself.

  And now I am off to get the camera problem solved.

Tim

 

 

Leave a Reply

