Jan. 19, 2014

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASUNDAY!!!   for me anyway.

Since I didn’t have to work today, I made the most of the quiet and settled in to watch some movies and eat heavily.  I feel I have accomplished both of these goals, but now feel guilty…or is that just indigestion?  Not sure it matters.  I am now in front of the computer planning todays entry.  I think it’s time to show more of McMurdo’s art work.  This will be the Painted portion of our program.  As I have a nice collection of shots of the permanent collection of pieces which decorate the Galley walls. The first 3 shots are taken at eye level just above the dining tables.  Nearly 5′ square.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

The latter 4 paintings are mounted on the walls about 15 feet above where I am standing.  They are each nearly 10′ X 8′ in size.  That will explain why the frames seem to fade out of square.  Each of these is a painting based on original photographs taken at sites around McMurdo Base.  The 2 with the shades of red, pink , orange and blue are as true to the colors of sunset here as an artist can hope to recreate.  In their own way they remind me a lot of Denver’s sunsets, and I find myself regularly at the same tables in the Galley where I can look at them when I feel homesick.  Which of course never happens…sigh.

I’ll see you all soon.

Tim

Leave a Reply

