Feb. 20, 2014 18′ No wind

Now that was worth it.

I had some fun with the blog I wrote yesterday about missing out on the first sunset, but seeing the presentation tonight was simply extraordinary.  I made arrangements to extend my lunch hour enough to get some good pictures.  I didn’t really care how long it took, and since Deven was available to watch the desk, I would not be missed.  As I left the office and walked down to the Galley for lunch all thought of food fled my mind.  I could see the yellow tingeing the clouds above and the bright golden rays were everywhere across the base below.

The light show had begun.  Lots of high broken clouds streamed across the sky in waves while the sea below was as calm as I have seen it since the ice melted away.  I stopped dead in my tracks ten steps out of the VMF door and grabbed my camera out of my bag.  The golden light washed over the base and made everything look surreal.  The fire-engine-red NSF trucks looked pink.  Simple cardboard boxes shimmered and glowed like expensive Christmas wrapped presents.  The remaining snow from last night contrasted against the deep black earth on the hillside and sparkled like granulated sugar on a Red Velvet cake.  And the sun itself…no wonder at all why early humans worshipped it.  It was just fantastic.

I just hope your computers can show the colors that I have seen tonight.  There is no image enhancement at this end.  What you see is what I saw.  I know that as I viewed the pictures on my desk top, I was a little disappointed by the vividness of the colors.  Unless you are here to see the almost storybook quality of  nature’s pallet, you just can’t understand.   Enough with mere words.

second sunset Feb. 20, 2014

second sunset Feb. 20, 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

